Tuesday, May 28, 2013

The Shiva trilogy

Many young Indian authors have penned down their mind and heart through English novels.One such very talented new Indian author is Amish Tripathi. He is a fresh new voice who seeped into Indian Myth and history and thrilled the readers with his compelling narrative style. Though the story of the Shiva trilogy is fictional, the characters and the historical depictions are factual.

The three books in this series are:
1) The Immortals of Meluha
2)The Secret of the Nagas
3)The Oath of the Vayuputras

The story focuses on Shiva, a twenty-one year old warrior who is living with his tribesmen in what is currently Tibet. He comes across a group of Meluhans (Meluha is what is now Western India & Pakistan) who are searching for something or someone.
Shiva’s tribe is called the Gunas and another tribe called the Pakratis is hunting them.
Shiva detests the needless violence and decides to follow the Meluhan party back to their land. Things seem troublesome in Meluha wherein the Suryavanshi kings (Descendants of the Sun) are the rulers and the people live by Suryavanshi standards. They are facing friction from their eastern neighbors, the land of Swadeep ruled by Chandravanshis (Descendants of the moon) as both sides are clueless in regards to the drying up of the Saraswati River and hence blame each other for their differences.
Thus begins the first part of the Shiva trilogy.

Amish Tripathi describes the adventures of Shiva- from being a common man to being the Neelkanth (Lord).

I enjoyed the books as there is furious action in every page.